Student in the Spotlight: Joy Johnson

Ananya Sankar
4 min readMar 6, 2018

Music and art are a package deal. Joy Johnson, a junior at MHS, understands this more than anyone else. As an exquisitely talented trumpet player, rock music enthusiast, and extraordinary artist, Joy finds that her talents are constantly intertwined with one another. From jazz band to intricate Halloween costumes to running a popular art Instagram account, Joy does it all-while loving what she does every step of the way.

Joy explained that “one of the most important things [music has] done for me is give me a better understanding of emotion: my own, other people’s, just the concept in general.” Joy has played trumpet for the past seven years, committing her talents to a wide range of opportunities. She is currently a member of the MHS Wind Ensemble, Marching Band, Jazz Band, and ROCO, which is a student-run organization that plays charity concerts. The multitude of opportunities has allowed Joy to meet new people who share her passion for music. “As someone who isn’t particularly social, that’s huge for me,” she said with a wide smile.

Outside of concert band, Joy has also developed a passion for rock music. Percussion-soaked instrumentals balanced with soulful lyrics have helped shape Joy into the person she is today. One musician in particular who has influenced her taste for mixing music and art is Gerard Way, a former lead vocalist of the rock band My Chemical Romance. His music has had a positive impact on Joy’s abilities to balance music and visual images, creating an entirely new form of artwork. To Joy, Gerard Way is able to enjoy his job by looking at life through a lens of passion. “He’s totally living his dream right now, too, and that’s something I hope I can do as well when I grow up.”

But what would Halloween be without Joy’s infamous costumes? Every year, she comes up with insanely creative ideas, all designed by herself! One of her favorite costumes to wear was from Halloween 2017 when she dressed up as a member of the science-fiction genre ‘Steampunk.’ “I made the mechanical parts out of cut-up cups covered in leather that I painted copper,” she explained. “Then I coated them with gears, metal strips, and nearly an entire pack of hot glue.” Her pencil-impaled getup complete with fake blood and latex abrasions, and her broken CD alien mask are just a few more examples of her extraordinary masterpieces. It’s safe to say that Joy’s artistic ability hides a touch of the unexpected.

What sets Joy apart from the rest of her peers is her social media. Her Instagram account “happy_humbug76” has over 23.2 thousand followers; she posts posting original artwork inspired by the band My Chemical Romance. She was encouraged to create the account by her younger sister and has since kept updating it regularly. Regarding her unique art style, Joy claims to dabble in multiple areas. “I’ve been told that the people I draw are very lifelike, but more so because of the style and expression than the level of realism.” Joy’s account has helped her connect with thousands of people who share her passion for art and music, and she can frequently be found conversing with her followers in the comments. “Something that I personally try to do with it is encourage everyone to share ideas . . . I like to ask people to expand on the concepts that I express in my art, whether they’re silly or serious. It makes my account a pretty collaborative place!” However, making thousands of friends comes with some responsibilities. “Having so many people actively follow what I put on the internet means that I have to be very conscious of the kind of character that I expose on there.” Joy’s account advocates individuality, and she actively encourages her followers to become more confident and proud. Commendably, the popularity has not affected Joy. In fact, she discloses that the account is an “opportunity to show that you can have a large following and still be honest and personal and maybe a bit weird, too.” Numbers aren’t her concern; the art is. Whether her pieces evoke sadness or laughter, Joy’s account is a warm place to enjoy music and art.

“I’m the same kid on Instagram as I am in real life.” Joy represents what all of us aspire to be: powerful individuals following our dreams. Each day, she gets to play another beautiful solo in band, sketch a piece of visual art, and connect with thousands of people who share her interests. Joy is bold and brilliant. Joy is unique.

Originally published at http://montgomerypawprint.wordpress.com on March 6, 2018.

--

--

Ananya Sankar

Journalist, Storyteller, Explorer. Based in Boston.